Nigerian Television Authority (NTA): Quick Facts,History,Logo,Channels,News,Jobs,Finance

The Nigerian Television Authority also popularly known as NTA is a Nigerian government-owned and partly commercial
broadcaster that was established in 1977.

At the time of inauguration NTA was literally the only television broadcasting network in the country

Quick Facts About The Nigeria Television Authority (NTA)

  • NTA is the biggest television network in Nigeria with stations in several parts of Nigeria.
  • NTA was Formerly known as Nigerian Television (NTV).
  • The first chairman of NTV was Olapade Obisesan.

  • The first official director general was Vincent Maduka.
  • The Nigeria Television Authority (NTA) is also one of the largest in Africa.
  • NTA began broadcasting on 31 October 1959 under the name Western Nigerian Government Broadcasting Corporation (WNTV) it was the first and television network in western Africa,at that time nothern africa already had a television station.
  • After it was founded in 1977. By 1979 NTA had already reached about 20% of the population.
  • April 1962 The Nigerian Broadcasting Corporation (NBC) was established in Lagos.
  • In 1972 MidWest TV was established as TV broadcaster at Port Harcourt.
  • In1974 Benue-Plateau Television Corporation (BPTV) was established and was the first television station to launch regular/permanent colour broadcasts in Africa. 
  • The colour test transmissions started in 1 October 1975. BPTV was later renamed as NTV-Jos.
  • MidWest TV,BPTV merged in May 1977 and re-branded Nigerian Television (NTV) and are now owned by Nigerian Television Authority.
  • Popular programmes such as Tales by Moonlight, Cock Crow at Dawn, and Mirror in the Sun started broadcasting nationwide in 1984.Other notable series promoted by NTA includes 
  • New Masquerade and Ken Saro Wiwa's Basi and Company.
  • Other soap operas televised by NTA includes: 
  • Mind Bending by Lola Fani Kayode,Ripples by Zeb Ejiro and Checkmate by Amaka Igwe. 
  • Ripples which started in 1988 became the network's longest running soap before it exited the stage in 1993.
  • Checkmate by Amaka Igwe starring RMD Richard Mofe Damijo, Bob-Manuel Udokwu, Ego Boyo, Kunle Bamtefa and Mildred Iweka launched the career of many celebrities.Blossom and Fortunes,The Rich also Cry, Secrets of the sand and Wild Rose.
  • NTA'S children's programmes include,Fun time, Readers club, Work it Out, and Take a Step.
  • --
  • In 1999, the network introduced breakfast television with A.M. Express.
  • NTA's news directorate is mostly channeled  towards reporting government activities with a lesser percentage of coverage. 
  • NTA had 101 stations located in major state capitals and towns in Nigeria.
  • NTA stations are located at Ibadan, Jos, Enugu, Kaduna, Lagos, Benin, Makurdi, Maiduguri and Sokoto.
  • NTA stations include:
  • NTA Aba
  • NTA Abeokuta
  • NTA Abuja
  • NTA Plus Abuja
  • NTA Ado-Ekiti
  • NTA Akure
  • NTA Asaba
  • NTA Awka
  • NTA Bauchi
  • NTA Benin
  • NTA Birnin-Kebbi
  • NTA Calabar
  • NTA Damaturu
  • NTA Dutse
  • --

  • NTA Enugu
  • NTA Gombe
  • NTA Gusau
  • NTA Ibadan
  • NTA Ife
  • NTA Ijebu-Ode
  • NTA Ilorin
  • NTA International
  • NTA Jalingo
  • NTA Jos
  • NTA Kaduna
  • NTA Kano
  • NTA Katsina
  • NTA 2 Channel 5 Lagos
  • NTA Channel 10 Lagos
  • NTA Lafia
  • NTA Lokoja
  • NTA Maiduguri
  • NTA Makurdi
  • NTA Minna
  • NTA Ondo
  • NTA Osogbo
  • NTA Owerri
  • NTA Port Harcourt
  • NTA Sokoto
  • NTA Uyo
  • NTA Yenagoa
  • NTA Yola
  • NTA Sapele
  • NTA Education
  • NTA Sports
Read Also: Swift Codes Of All Nigerian Banks

NTA also has a digital Pay TV service called Startimes in partnership with Star Communications Technology of China. 
Additional NTA channels with startimes include NTA Yoruba, NTA Ibo, NTA Hausa, NTA Sports 24 and NTA Parliamentary Channel.

NTA programmes can also be viewed online via Africast as well as TelAfric Television (US & Canada).