Aso Rock Presidential Villa: History,Pictures 


Just like the American white house
that is famous for being the home of American presidents,so is also Rock Presidential Villa known for being the home and official residence of the President of Nigeria since 1992.
This article contains a quick information about Aso Rock Presidential Villa and its history and pictures.

Quick Facts About Aso Rock Presidential Villa
  • Aso rock is the most protected presidential state house in Africa.
  • Aso rock was built when Nigeria moved it's capital city from Lagos to Abuja.
  • Aso rock is also called other names like: State House, The Rock and The Villa,The Aso Rock villa and Presidential Complex. 
  • Aso Rock Presidential Villa is Architectural style is Neoclassical, Palladian.
  • The building is located at Yakubu Gowon Crescent,The Three Arms Zone, Asokoro, Abuja, FCT, Nigeria
  • The Construction of the building startedOctober 13, 1989,over 25 years ago.
  • Aso rock was completed November 1, 1991. 
  • --
  • The building is Owned by the.Federal Government of Nigeria.
  • Nigeria's former President,Mr Obasanjo hosted the then US First Lady Laura Bush at the Presidential Villa on 18 January 2006
  • The first president to live in Aso rock is Ibrahim Babangida.
  • Aso Rock means “the people of victory”.
  • The name "Aso Rock" is actually the unofficial name of the Nigerian State House and Presidential Complex.
  • The real Aso Rock is a 400-metre monolith rock.
  • Aso rock is the pride of Abuja.
  • Important Nigerian buildings like the Nigerian Presidential Complex, Nigerian National Assembly, and Nigerian Supreme Court are located inside the villa.
  • Also there is a chapel, restaurant,mosque and a hospital. 
  • The main building contains various rooms for various purposes like the The Nigerian President and Vice President’s office, the conference rooms Etc

RecommendedIs This The Most Expensive House In Nigeria? 

Occupants of Aso Rock Presidential Villa (Past and Present Presidents)
The following presidents occupied the Aso Rock Nigerian presidential villa:

Since the building of Aso rock,a total of seven presidents has occupied the white house namely: 
  • Ibrahim Babangida
  • Sani Abacha
  • Abdulsalam Abubakar
  • Olusegun Obasanjo
  • Umaru Musa Yar’ adua
Goodluck Ebele Jonathan and Muhammadu Buhari,the current president.


  1. you didn't mention how much was used to build the Aso Rock. That information is important please. Kindly provide


Post a Comment