Nigerian Navy: 21 Quick Facts That You Should Know

A lot of Nigerian youths dream of joining the Nigerian Navy
and are definitely eager to serve their father land,if your are amongst those that are patriotic and eager to enlist,then you should take out time to scan through a summarized fact sheets of the Nigerian Navy that you should know. 
This article contains quick facts about the Nigerian Navy. 

Nigerian Navy Quick Facts

1. The Nigerian Navy (NN) is a branch of the Nigerian Armed Forces. 

2. The Nigerian Navy is among the largest Navies on the African continent, consisting of thousands of trained  personnel.

3. The Nigerian Navy (NN) has been active since 1958.

4. The NN is part of the Ministry of Defence.

5. The Nigerian Navy Motto is "Onward Together".

6. The NN Fleet consists of 2 amphibious tank landing ships,3 frigates,2 offshore patrol vessels,2 minesweepers,9 fast patrol boats,4 patrol cutters,4 corvettes,16 inshore patrol crafts.

7. The NN has engaged in the following wars: Nigerian Civil War,First Liberian Civil War,Sierra Leone Civil War,Conflict in the Niger Delta,Northern Mali War,invasion of the Gambia.

8. The official website of the NN is

9. The origin of the NN dates back to the Nigerian Marine formed in 1914 after the amalgamation of the Northern and Southern Nigeria.

10. The first basic training of the N Navy - the HMNS QUORRA - was started on 1 November 1957 with 60 junior ratings, who underwent a 6-month basic seamanship course.

11. The Naval Headquarters (NHQ) is the administrative and policy-making organ of the Nigerian Navy. 

12. The NN Chief of the Naval Staff (CNS) exercises full command of the NN. 

13. The Chief of Naval Staff has seven staff branches in addition to the Office of the Navy Secretary.

14. The Chief of the Naval Staff is the highest ranking military officer of the Nigerian Navy.


15. The chief Of Naval Staff is appointed by the President who is the Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of Nigeria.

16. In the Nigerian Navy structure the The Chief of the Naval Staff reports to the Chief of Defense Staff, who also reports to the Defense Minister. 

17. There are operational commands namely: Western Naval Command, Eastern Naval Command, and Central Naval Command which are under the Naval Headquarters. 

18. The Western Naval Command HQ is located at Apapa in Lagos state Nigeria and covers the sea and coastal areas from the Nigeria to the Benin republic border. 


19. The NN Eastern Naval Command is the second operations command of the NN and covers the sea area from Delta State to the Nigeria - Cameroon border.

20. The Central naval Command is the third operations command of the NN which is headquartered in Yenagoa Bayelsa State Nigeria. 

21. The Naval Training Command also known as NAVTRAC is the section of the NN that specializes in the local training in the NN.