University Of Abuja: 20 Cool Facts You Never Knew

The University of Abuja is one of the tertiary institution in Nigeria. 

Some people taught that the University was founded when Abuja was made the capital of Nigeria,but that fact is false. 
The University of Abuja has been in existence for over 27 years. 
Let's take a quick look at some cool facts about the University of Abuja that you never knew. 

University Of Abuja: 20 Cool Facts You Never Knew 

  • 1. The University of Abuja was established on 1st of January 1988. 
  • 2. The University has 10 Faculties namely: College of Heath Sciences,Faculties of Agriculture,Arts,Education,Engineering,Law,Management Sciences,Sciences,Social Sciences,Veterinary Medicine.
  • 3. The universities main campus is located at Abuja Airport Road, FCT, Abuja.
  • 4. The University is ranked as the 11th best university in Nigeria and has a current world rank of world rank of 4455.
  • 5. The University is accredited by the National Universities Commission, Nigeria.
  • 6. University of Abuja offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as pre-bachelor degrees (certificates, diplomas) bachelor degrees, master degrees, doctorate degrees in different areas of study.
  • 7. The university boost of several academic facilities. 
  • 8. The Motto of the University is For 'Unity And Scholarship'
  • 9. The institutions official colors is 'Green and white.

  • Read Also: 15 Facts About Imo State University IMSU

  • 10. After it was founded in January 1, 1988 academic work began in 1990.
  • 11. The schol is Nicknamed UniAbuja.
  • 12. The University of Abuja's official website address is ww
  • 13. The University started from three blocks of building meant for a primary school in Gwagwalada,and was tagged the 'mini campus' 
  • 14. UniAbuja has two female hostels and a boys hostel that accommodates up to three thousand students. 
  • 15. The University now operates from both its Main Campus at Abuja Airport Road and the Mini Campus located in Gwagwalada. 
  • 16. The school also offers distance learning programs. 
  • 17. UniAbuja's permanent site contain the Faculties of Arts, Science, Management Science Veterinary medicine, Agriculture and Engineering with the College of medicine and also the university senate and other administrative building,while the mini campus is still contains the Faculties of education social science, and law.
  • 18. To get admission into a degree awarding undergraduate program prospective students are expecyed to have  5 credits in English language, Mathematics and 3 other subjects relevant to the course the student intends to study.The student is expected to have a minimum UTME examination score of 180 after which the student is expected to write the Post UTME organized by the University.
  • 19. Post Graduate School prospective students are expected to be graduates of recognized universities,some professional qualifications may also be considered for Master’s Degree.
  • 20. For Doctorate Degree (Ph.D),the prospective students are expected to have obtained a master’s degree with a minimum of 3.50 grade point on a 5-point scale.